Thursday, November 14, 2019
Hot NewsNewspolitics

List: Africa still Surviving 21 “Dictators”?


The fall of one dictator after another in the continent is always praise as positive change towards the end of self-perpetuating rule in the continent. However, this perception is deceptive as one dictatorship in is being recycled from form to another instead of putting an end to autocratic rule. Even though Personalist dictatorship is the most evident form of dictatorship in the continent, hybrid dictatorships, military dictatorships, monarchies, and single party dictatorships also exist.

Recent global list of dictatorships” by World Population Review  has featured twenty-one (21) African States under dictatorship.

Below is the list of the State and the dictators respectively.

Country                                                    “Dictator”

1. Algeria                                                   Abdelkader Bensalah

2. Angola                                                   Joao Lourenco

3. Burundi                                                 Pierre Nkurunziza

4. Cameroon                                              Paul Biya

5. Central-African Republic                        Faustin Archange Touadera

6. Chad                                                       Idriss Deby

7. DR. Congo                                                Felix Tshisekedi

8. Equatorial Guinea                                   Teodoro Mbasogo Obiang

9. Eritrea                                                      Isaias Afwerki

10. Ethiopia                                                 Abiy Ahmed

11. Gabon                                                    Albert-Bernard Bongo

12. Libya                                                       Nouri Abusahmain

13. Mauritania                                              Mohamed Ould Ghazouani

14. Republic Of The Congo                          Denis Sassou Nguesso

15. Rwanda                                                    Paul Kagame

16. Somalia                                                  Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed

17. South Sudan                                           Salva Kiir Mayardit

18. Sudan                                                     Abdel Fattah Abdelrahman Burhan

19. Uganda                                                   Yoweri Museveni

20. Western Sahara                                       Brahim Ghali

21. Egypt                                                       Abdel Fattah el-Sisi

Source: eyeGambia



%d bloggers like this: